DIY

Jazz Up Your Candles | DIY


Hey, guys!

Given that fall is just around the corner and then it’ll change to sweater weather, I decided to slowly transform my room to a cosy, warm haven so that it has that amazing fall vibe. Last year, I had candles (don’t we all, duh, it’s fall) which I kept on all throughout the day and this year I decided to jazz them up to give them a more customized feel and look. It’s very easy to do, took me only two hours and is also very inexpensive. Hope you like it! x

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I am using the IKEA Sinnlig candles in Tangerine Sunshine (orange), Sweet Berries (personal favorite) and Full Blossom (lilac). You can check them out here.

What You’ll Need – 

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

A4 sheets, Candles, Glue, Scissors, Glitter Tape, Glitter Tubes, Paint Brushes, Color Pens (I’m using connector pens, you could use sharpees), Scotch Tape, Pencil, Nail Polish (use old ones or the ones you don’t put on)

Step 1Cut out strips of paper after measuring them by wrapping them around your candle. I sued a sticky note as reference for the height of the candle as they were the same.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Step 2 –  After cutting out strips from your measurements, double check them by wrapping them around your candle again, after which you can start designing you strips however you like.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I did a neon chevron pattern which I outlined with silver glitter and then I did a heart patter where I did a black background with white hearts and gold glitter outlines.

Step 3 – Repeat the process and design all the strips, in my case, I did four of them. Let it dry and then stick them on to the candles. I simply used the paint brush to cover the glass holders in glue and then I carefully wrapped the strips onto the glass holders.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

This is how your candles will look at the end!

Now, for specific candles shown above, since I did not show how I designed two of them, here is a closer look into how they look and how I designed them.

1. Tangerine Sunshine (Scent – Orange Blossom) 

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

For the above look, I just covered the candle in white tape and then using glitter tubes in gold and silver, I randomly spread glitter. As you can see, I have not covered the candle to the top and nor is the glitter covering it properly, this is because when lit, the light reaches the glitter more and you can see more of it.

2. Sweet Berries (Scent – Strawberry) 

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Simply colored it black with a sharpee leaving out the hearts that I drew earlier and then outlined those with gold glitter. You could cut out the hearts as an alternative option.

3. Full Blossom (Scent – Lilac) 

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

This is the chevron pattern that I made which I figured was looking a bit too plain so I added black and grey chevron to it and a more noticeable silver glitter outlining.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

For this, I wanted a metallic look so I just taped it with glitter tape all the way to the top leaving a few gaps in the middle from which the light can escape. It takes minutes to do and is very easy and makes your candle looks gorgeous!

IMG_7815

This is how they look!

P.S I’m so sorry for the quality of these pictures, I took them from my phone because my camera was out of battery, wish I could’ve taken better pictures and shown to you exactly how they look when lighted. 

 So, this is it for today, please do share pictures with me on Instagram if you design your own candles, I would love to see yours. My Instagram is @theconfettigirlblog, you can use the hash tag, #confetticandles! 

Until next time, 

x

Have something to share? Please leave some feedback in the comments below!

