Beauty · fashion

Oscars 2016 | Personal Picks


Hi, people! 

So, the Oscars just happened and all of social media found itself flooded with best dressed, worst dressed and Leonardo DiCaprio! 

There were a ton of beautiful dresses seen on the red carpet and I wish I could mention all of those but I had a few clear favorites and they deserved gushing and obsessing. Here are my top picks – 

_________________________________________________________________

Saoirse Ronan in custom Calvin Klein 

12

I love the color, love the emerald sequencing and the Chopard jewelry. I am so partial to this color and love how the color compliments her eyes and pays tribute to her Irish heritage. She looks beautiful. She completely took over the red carpet with this one!

Cate Blanchett in custom Armani Prive

1

Unlike Heidi Klum’s Marchesa fail, this one totally rocks the 3D vibe. It’s delicate, the seafoam color is beautiful and the Blue Book jewels totally complement the look.

Brie Larsson in custom Gucci

4

I’m in love with the cobalt blue. I love how her makeup complements the crystal and pearl belt and I love how subtle and soft the ruffles are. The overall look is not ‘in your face’ but just such a statement still. Plus, if you’ve seen shots of her hair, it perfectly complements the belt and ties the look together.

Olivia Munn in Stella McCartney 

3

I’m so partial to Stella McCartney since she’s one of my favorite designers and so I had to include this look (not that it didn’t deserve to be here anyway). I love the fiery orange, love the structured cut which is so Stella McCartney and I love how her makeup is kept to a minimal with just a pop of orange on the lips and her hair is slicked back into a bun. Overall this is such a clean, elegant look.

Rachel McAdams in August Getty Atelier

6

Again, this color has me obsessed. It is a simple, no fuss bottle green halter neck with a dramatic high slit which is what makes it such a package as a look. I love the earrings, the minimal makeup and slick hair.

_________________________________________________________________

After Party Favorites 

Elizabeth Banks in Ralph & Russo

10

Again, I’m partial. Ralph & Russo is one of my couture favorites and so there was no way I’d leave it out (again, not that it didn’t deserve this spot anyway) Love the cape, the embellished lace and the hair. It’s perfect!

Sara Hyland in Blumarine

11

I’ve loved every Sarah Hyland look, she’s always super chic and on point. I love the bling, the hair and the earrings. She looks gorgeous!

_________________________________________________________________

Mentions 

Lady Gaga in Brandon Maxwell

2

She’s never boring and I love the jumpsuit-dress look but the fitting could’ve been so much better, it just seems off. Apart from that, love the silhouette, the hair and the slightly amber tone in her eye shadow.

Priyanka Chopra in Zuhair Murad

7

I’m partial, yet again. This is the last one, I swear. Stella McCartney, Ralph & Russo and Zuhair Murad happen to be my favorite fashion designers/houses and so I tend to like most of their red carpet ventures. It’s easy to love this one, Priyanka Chopra looks gorgeous. I especially love the lip color and the metallic belt. The reason I put this in mentions and not in my favorites is because even with the belt it does incline more towards the bridal side but apart from that, I love how flattering the sweetheart neckline and fishtail are on her and how she carries it off with grace!

_________________________________________________________________

Until next time,

x

Have something to share? Please leave some feedback in the comments below!

